freelancerforhire

Taking the Plunge

In Getting started on August 22, 2009 at 2:26 am

  Do you want to write for a living?  Do you want your words in print?  Are you trying to get your story published?  Do you want to make  a more than decent living doing all of the above and then some?  Join the club.  So do I, and so do hundred or thousands, maybe even millions of others.  So how do you compete?  That is the million dollar question.  If you have the answer please let me know.

  What I hope to accomplish in this blog, by sharing my successes and failures in the freelancing industry, is helping others advance their writing careers by avoiding some of my mistakes and taking some of my advice.  

  I’ve known since high school that I wanted a career writing.  But it wasn’t until about a month ago that I really started to do something about it.  I had read all the books on freelancing, but I hadn’t sent out a single query or gotten one byline since high school.  I had my work cut out for me.

  What was my first step?  I decided I needed a writing community to help me stay motivated.  I couldn’t find a community for writing mothers.  I started my own (Mommy Writers).  I figured I would be able to benefit from the experience of other writers and take advantage of the networking opportunities while supporting each other.

  What will be your first step?  Have you long toyed with the idea of a writing career but done nothing to make it happen?  Maybe your first step should be meeting other writers, pick their brains.  You’d be amazed what opportunities you might stumble upon, and how encouraging it can be just to talk to someone who’s been where you are and succeeded.   

 

For more information on Mommy Writers visit us online.

  1. I love that you started you new social networking group ‘Mommy Writers’! That’s great for you! I started one as well awhile back but couldn’t keep up with it so it died. I heard the biggest part to keeping a social network going is the creator of it being always there promoting and startings conversation to get others engaged to reply. I wasn’t able to invest that kind of time. But I’ll try again after my kids are in school….maybe….we’ll see. Good for you though!!!
    Sarah

    • What makes Mommy Writers dofferent from your run of the mill social network is that I built it to also offer a face-to-face community. On August 1st we had out first networking event and our next event is scheduled for August 31. Thanks for the encouraging words!

  2. […] hard to believe it’s been almost a year since I originally launched Searching for Freelance Success in August 2009.  In that first post I talked about embarking on my […]

Leave a Reply

