freelancerforhire

What have you done to further your career today?

In Getting started, Writer Challenges on August 27, 2009 at 5:16 am

  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, as a writer it’s essential for you to understand that you have some very stiff competition – lots of it.  If you want to advance as a freelance writer, you must take certain calculated steps in that direction.  If you want to be a magazine writer at some point you will have to actually begin writing for magazines.  If you want to be a novelist you will have to start writing that book.  So where do you start?  You start with today.

  I have to ask myself this all the time – what did I accomplish today as a writer?  Some days all you will have to answer this question is one paragraph of an article, and you have no idea what you will do with it yet.  That’s okay.  Other days you will have made huge progress toward your goal of being an “established writer”.  That’s great too.

  What did I accomplish today?  I contacted some other writers on Mom Bloggers Club to solicit feedback on my work, I wrote this blog entry, I worked on an article that I hope to have published soon, and I started brain storming a query letter I hope to have sent back by the end of next week.  And I feel good about that.  If at the end of the day you feel good about the work you’ve done then you should rest easy.  If you feel like you should have done more, then you probably should have.

  What do you do if you have no clue where to start?  You start by asking yourself what do you want to write.  Once you’ve answered that question just start writing.  Of course at some point you will have to do market research and query letters, but for now you just want to start writing.  You want to have something to work with.  You don’t want to over complicate things.  Just write. 

  Tomorrow try to accomplish one writing task – just one, and then the next day maybe two, and so on until you are getting the most out of your time and moving towards your goals at a pace that satisfies you.  And don’t forget to ask yourself – “What have I done today?”

  1. […] of doing something to advance your career everyday ( if you missed that you can read more here).  But on this particular day I was finding it extremely difficult to take my own advice.  I had […]

Leave a Reply

