freelancerforhire

Opportunities Are Everywhere

In Getting started on November 17, 2009 at 6:02 am

The hardest part for many writers is getting started.  The first clip is usually the hardest one to obtain, after that each writing assignment should become less and less intimidating.  In the spirit of getting started, today I thought I’d share a couple places that beginning writers can showcase their talent.

Most writing books and websites I’ve come across suggest pitching your ideas to smaller local publications first – which is a phenomenal idea.  But where do you find these small local publications?  If they’re not terribly popular they may also be more difficult to find.

Tip #1:  Call or visit small organizations.  If you know of a local organization, stop by or give them a call.  Chances are they’d be open to having you write for their newsletter – or if they don’t have one they may even like for you to start one for them.  Approach these jobs with caution, you will have to do some research on newsletter formatting before promising to deliver a fabulous project.

Tip #2: Pick up free papers.  It’s very likely that your town or city is the home to at least a couple free publications.  When you’re out at the supermarket or walking around, instead of walking by those free papers, pick them up!  Peruse them, if the subject matter is something that you could write about, pitch to them.

Tip #3: Go back to high school.  For some of us that last statement may have cause dry heaves.  But for the beginning writer it’s worth considering.  Some high schools have a newsletter for their alumni, sponsors, or donors.  You can call and ask if there’s an alumni newsletter of anything of the kind and if they’re looking for writers.

Tip #4: Apply for Examiner.com.  Okay, this may sound like a cheesy plug, but it’s not.  It’s a good way to build your expertise and readership.  Not to mention, Examiner does pretty well on search engines.  I can’t say how selective their application process is, only that the application does take some time and planning.  Give it your best shot, pick a topic to examine that you feel comfortable with, and try not to over think it.  Work on your application for 2 weeks TOPS.

  1. I’d love to get a writing gig. Know anyone who wants a Ghost Blogger? Will work for food. Seriously! SITS sent me by, and I’m glad they did…

    I Need a Kick in the Keister

  2. I am looking to start freelance writing and was getting frustrated at the dead-end leads. I am going to take your advice. TFS!

    …came by from SITS and so glad I did!

  3. Thanks for a great post! In my small town, there is a large group of folks volunteering their time through various organizations. I’ve gotten to know several of them and their groups by covering their events for the local paper. I decided to ask if they have a newsletter and to offer my time by starting one for them. I figure I’m helping out a great local organization doing wonderful things for our town, and strengthening my resume and list of clips. I’m so glad I stopped by your site!

  4. Thanks for the great tips!

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

