freelancerforhire

Not Another New Year’s Post

In Writer Challenges on January 2, 2010 at 3:47 pm

I will resist the temptation to write a “year in review” post for writers, or share my resolutions or anything of the sort.  I think there’s enough of that to go around already.  Don’t you? 

In any case, here’s the skinny on my absence: I got offered a job – sort of.  I got an e-mail stating they were looking for someone to write articles for real estate websites.  They asked about my prices, policies, etc.  I sent an e-mail back 2 days later after agonizing over the e-mail.  I want this job.  Two weeks later, now word back.  I’m assuming that’s not a good sign.

The silver lining?  Someone thought of me.  Someone came across my information somehow and was intrigued enough to get in touch with me.  All my work trying to build an online presence and audience has not been a  complete waste of time (if it wasn’t already evident by all you lovely readers).  So while I am still not a millionaire behind my writing I’d like to take this as a cue that I am doing something right.

Besides that?  I started another blog.  (Another one?!  Yes, another one.)   It’s an education blog, all about what I’ve learned in raising my little one and the endless reasearch on infant/toddler development, early childhood education and otherwise how to aid in his development.  It was long overdue.  ou can head on over and tell me what you think: Brain Food…Simplified  My hope is that between the two sites I’ll be able to keep you all updated daily.

I also have a couple book reviews in the works (stay tuned folks).  And of course the never-ending cycle of queries.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I hate queries.  It’d hard for me to get past the pressure of it.  But there’s nothing else to do but keep trying.  

In my case I can only trust that slow success is the best kind. 

My Pearl of Wisdom for the day: Try not to become discourage my what may seem a never-ending cycle of “grunt work”.  The not-so-painless self marketing, query after rejected query, the websites that no one seems to visit….it will all pay off.  It’s practice writing (which is the only way to get better), practice building relationships with reads, practice building relationships with other writers.  It’s all practice for the day when you become rich and famous (or at least that’s what i keep telling myself).

  1. That’s an amazing honor-I commend you for keeping such a positive attitude! All of this hard work WILL pay off 🙂

  2. Hey! I found you in Mom Bloggers. Wow! WordPress looks good! 🙂 I hope I can find the patience to start mine. 2010 is going to be an amazing year! Actually, it already is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

