freelancerforhire

The Balancing Act

In Writer Challenges, Writing & Motherhood on February 4, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Long time no post, huh? I figured it was time to post an update for those interested in the life of a freelance writer breaking into the industry.

One of the reasons I haven’t been able to update my blogs as much as I’d like is a very cranky 17 month old in the house. He’s recently developed a jealousy of my computer and begins screaming at the top of his lungs whenever he sees me sit at my desk. Thank God for a internet capable cell phone (and thank my husband for buying it) – otherwise I wouldn’t even be able to write this, as I’m pinned under a sleeping little one in bed.

Other than that, the little one spilled hot chocolate on my keybaord and I was out of commission for a bit until I could get a new one. I came down with a stomach virus that had me sequestered to the sidelines for a bit. And as some of you may know, I am back in school working on my Bachelor’s which is taking up some of my time.

What have I learned from all this?? Juggling life, motherhood, and career can often be much like a dance or a tight rope walk – lean too much in either direction and there can be disastrous consequences. Trust me, I’ve learned this the hard way.

As it stands now I am still trying to help the little one overcome this phase he’s going through and figure out the cause. I am in the process of reviewing Charter Schools: The Ultimate Handbook for Parents by Karin Piper (parents can check back for that in the next few days). I am still moving forward with my book, and I have been in touch with a few other talented writers/bloggers about some possible collaborations.

Is it everything I wish I could be doing? Not quite. But some progress is better than none. Balance is not an easy thing to master, especially with children – but I’m getting there.

  1. It is quite the challenge, isn’t it? It seems I either have my baby or my toddler helping me at the computer. I so wish I had more time to write, but they will all grow up and leave home some day and then I’ll have more time than I know what to do with!! Hang in there! You are doing great!

  2. Prayers for you! I’m not a mom, but I am a Christian woman – I clicked over here from BlogSpot & responded to your query about fellowshipping with other Christian women. I see, too, that you’re part of SITS. I know from friends that you’ve got challenges in your life as a mother, but never forget that God’s on Your side & that He’s there to help you & to support you. Blessings! 😀

  3. it sure is a challenge, but eventually u get your life back!! certainly more personal time. i would suggest waiting til he naps, or the evil tv, or reasoningg with him that mummy needs the computer – ha! yeah know, right??? it’s such a cute age tho! thanks for stopping by!

  4. I know that act all too well! I wish you much success!

    And thank you so much for visiting me on my SITS day! I am your newest follower. I hope you’ll come visit me again soon.

Leave a Reply

