freelancerforhire

A Woman on a Mission

In Blogapalooza on August 17, 2010 at 6:27 pm

I was checking out a post written by a fellow blogger, when she mentioned the “mission” of her blog.  And it occurred to me that I had never established a clear mission for this blog.  And so I decided that as part of my re-launch I would add a new page containing my mission statement.  It’s turned out to be a bit harder than I’d expected.

It’s been a bit like trying to figure out my life’s purpose.  Why did I start this bog?  Why do I write?  What do I hope to accomplish?  These are difficult questions, but once you’ve determined the answers you could be a lot closer to your writing goals than you realize.

If you’re having trouble answering these questions, a better place to start might be with the exercise in this post.  You will be prompted to develop a writing “business plan” or list of career goals.  It might be easier to first determine where you want to be, then you might stumble across some of the “why’s” and what drives you.

One thing I have learned is that as a writer our primary goal is to share information.  We all hope that someone else will benefit from our experiences or knowledge.  With that in mind, think about what you most want to share with others.  Considering this you’ll be well on your way to developing your mission.

Why do I need a mission statement?  With a clear mission, you’ll find that you have new clarity in your writing.  When you know exactly what it is you want to convey to your audience, you may find that you’ve been saying it the wrong way, or using the wrong tools to communicate.  Maybe you’ve been working on a book when your message would have been best received on a blog, or vice versa. 

Do you have a mission statement already?  Is it on your blog or do you have it somewhere only you can refer to it when you need a refresher? 

Stay tuned for my mission statement!

Leave a Reply

