freelancerforhire

Challenge Yourself

In Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Folks, if anyone ever tells you that building a successful writing career is easy, they’re lying to you.

These last two weeks have seen some marked achievements for me.  My Twitter following continues to grow (every follower is a potential reader), I have had the most site hits on this blog in one day, I am hosting my first giveaways, and I’ve gotten more comments on this blog in one week than any other week since I originally launched.

In the spirit of continuing to grow my writing career I am embarking on two more challenges. 

Number one: The 100 Day Writing Challenge, by WritingSpirit.com.  One of the best things about this particular endeavor is that it’s customizable.  The only stipulation is that you write for at least 100 days.  My goal is to write at least 1000 words per day (not including school assignments), and include at least a couple different genres of writing per week.  Go here for more on the importance of writing often.

Number two: 1000 Twitter followers by the end of October.  This one is simple.  One of my biggest goals at the moment is to grow my following (and of course to make sure I am producing content for said following).

Now that I have challenged myself, I am challenging you.  I have two more gooks I’d like to give away.

  • Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose –> Make sure you’re following me on Twitter, then Tweet about this post and/or giveaway.  Every tweet counts as an entry.  Winner will be chosen randomly and announced on September 8th.
  • On Writing Well: A Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction by William Zinsser –> Share your writing questions with me!  Tweet them, post them as comments, or e-mail me.  Every question counts as an entry.  Winner will be chosen randomly and announced on September 8th.

If you want to be a successful writer, you’re going to have to push yourself.  I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

  1. I suppose writing in 140 characters doesn’t qualify?! If I’m going to get my book sold, I really need to hold myself to a writing schedule now that my workshop and artificial deadlines are gone. I think we’re going to change our son’s daycare schedule so he’s going three mornings a week, and I’ll go to the coffee shop to write.

    And 1000 followers. That’s an impressive goal. I’d be happy to get to 500 by the end of September.

Leave a comment